The divorce process can be both stressful and time-consuming. At the end of it all, people tend to be eager about beginning the next chapter of their life.
Often, a new partner can play a significant role in this new beginning and there could be a desire to get married again. Sometimes, this decision can happen years after a divorce. However, occasionally, couples have an urge to get married right away. As a result, it is important to examine whether there are time limits on remarrying in the state of Texas.
Must you wait before getting married again in Texas?
Typically, the law of Texas imposes a 30-day waiting period before you can remarry. This means that you may get married on the 31st day after the judge has issued your final decree of divorce.
Why is there a waiting period?
The law imposes a 30-day waiting period so that both spouses can file an appeal. This means that the terms of a divorce can be challenged within this time frame. Once this period has expired, the terms of the divorce are deemed to be final.
Can the waiting period be waived?
One exception to the rule applies if you are remarrying the spouse that you have just divorced. Furthermore, if your new spouse is being immediately deployed by the military, or either of you is being assigned to permanent duties abroad, then a judge can grant a motion to wave the 30-day period.
Additionally, if either of you has a serious health issue, or are due to undergo serious medical treatment, the judge may grant an exception.
Finally, if you have not seen or lived with your former spouse for several years prior to the granting of a divorce, then an allowance could be made. Ultimately, the judge has complete discretion on the issue of waiving the 30-day waiting period before remarrying.
Familiarizing yourself with the law on remarrying in Texas could assist you in achieving the best possible outcome. Additionally, it is important to know what legal rights and protections are in place for you.